Birds with photos

Recent Photos


Total Categories: 4

The Long-legged waders are also called as Shorebirds. This group includes long-legged wading birds such as storks and herons. These does not include the marine web-footed seabird groups such as Gulls, Terns, Skimmers. Long-legged waders include more than 200 species. Most of these species are associated with wetland OR coastal environments. Many species of Arctic and temperate regions are strongly migratory, but tropical birds are often resident, OR move only in response to rainfall patterns. Some of the Arctic species, such as Little Stint are amongst the longest distance migrants, spending the non-breeding season in the southern hemisphere. The majority of species eat small invertebrates picked out of mud OR exposed soil. Different lengths of bills enable different species to feed in the same habitat, particularly on the coast, without direct competition for food. Many waders have sensitive nerve endings at the end of their bills which enable them to detect prey items hidden in mud or soft soil. Some larger species, particularly those adapted to drier habitats will take larger prey including insects and small reptiles. The smallest member of this group is the Least Sandpiper, small adults of which can weigh as little as 15.5 grams and measure just over 13 cm. The largest species is believed to be the Far Eastern Curlew, weighing about 900 grams and measures around 65 cm; although the Beach Thick-knee, is the heaviest at about 1 kg.

Duck-like Birds

Total Categories: 3

Ducks are divided between several subfamilies. Ducks are mostly aquatic birds, mostly smaller than the swans and geese, and may be found in both fresh water and sea water. Ducks are sometimes confused with several types of unrelated water birds with similar forms, such as loons or divers, grebes, gallinules, and coots. A Grebe is a member a widely distributed order of freshwater diving birds, some of which visit the sea when migrating and in winter. Coots are medium-sized water birds that are members of the Rail family. Coots have predominantly black plumage and unlike many of the rails, they are usually easy to see, often swimming in open water. They are close relatives of the Moorhen. Swans usually mate for life, though "divorce" does sometimes occur, particularly following nesting failure. The number of eggs in each clutch ranges from three to eight. There are six to seven species of swan. The word Goose is the English name for a considerable number of birds. This family includes Swans, most of which are larger than true geese, and ducks, which are smaller. A number of other waterbirds, mostly related to the shelducks, have ""goose"" as part of their name.

Perching Birds

Total Categories: 19

With over 5,000 identified species, it has roughly twice as many species as the largest of the mammal orders. It contains over 110 families, the second most of any order of vertebrates. Most Perching Birds are smaller. The heaviest and altogether largest are the Thick-billed Raven weighing 1.5 kg and measures 70 cm. The Superb Lyrebird and some Birds-of-Paradise, measures around 110 cm due to very long tails. The smallest Perching Bird is the Short-tailed Pygmy-Tyrant, measuring 6.5 cm and weighing 4.2 grams. The foot of a passerine has three toes directed forward and one toe directed backwards. This arrangement enables the birds to perch upon vertical surfaces, such as trees and cliffs. The toes have no webbing or joining, but in some cotingas the second and third toes are united at their basal third. The hind toe joins the leg at the same level as the front toes. In other orders of birds the toe arrangement is different. The leg muscle of Perching Birds contains a special adaption for perching. It will automatically tighten and become stiff, if the bird starts to lose hold of the branch on which it is perching. This enables them to sleep while perching without falling off. This is especially useful for birds that develop nocturnal lifestyles. Most passerine birds develop twelve tail feathers. Certain species have stiff tail feathers, which help the birds balance themselves when perching upon vertical surfaces. The chicks of passerines are altricial; blind, featherless, and helpless when hatched from their eggs. This requires that the chicks receive a lot of parental care. Most perching birds lay coloured eggs.

Birds of Prey

Total Categories: 2

The Birds of prey are birds that hunt for food primarily on the wing, using their keen senses, especially vision. They are defined as birds that primarily hunt vertebrates, including other birds. Their talons and beaks tend to be relatively large, powerful and adapted for tearing and piercing flesh. In most cases, the females are considerably larger than the males.

Upland Ground Birds

Total Categories: 3

The Upland Ground Birds contains the familiar game birds - doves, pigeons, grouse, quail, pheasants - as well as certain other cryptically colored birds of woodlands, such as the Nightjars. Many of these birds are difficult to detect against a background of dead leaves or grass until they flush unexpectedly into the air.

Tree-clinging Birds

Total Categories: 3

Tree-clinging Birds include mainly different species of Woodpeckers and Nuthatches.These birds can perch on trees upright. Bird like Nuthatches can even perch upside-down. These species nest in cavities and they all use the tree holes. These can be natural holes OR old nest of other birds. These birds are typically omnivorous.


Total Categories: 6

Seabirds are also known as Marine birds. These are birds that have adapted to life within the marine environment. While seabirds vary greatly in lifestyle, behavior and physiology, they often exhibit striking convergent evolution, as the same environmental problems and feeding niches have resulted in similar adaptations. The first seabirds evolved in the Cretaceous period, and modern seabird families emerged in the Paleogene. In general, seabirds live longer, breed later and have fewer young than other birds do, but they invest a great deal of time in their young. Most species nest in colonies, which can vary in size from a few dozen birds to millions. Many species are famous for undertaking long annual migrations, crossing the equator or circumnavigating the Earth in some cases. They feed both at the ocean's surface and below it, and even feed on each other. Seabirds can be highly pelagic, coastal, or in some cases spend a part of the year away from the sea entirely

Night Birds

Total Categories: 2

The Night Birds can also be referred as Nocturnal Birds. These are the species of birds which are active during night time OR late evening. These species generally have highly developed senses of hearing and specially adapted eyesight. Many nocturnal creatures have eyes that seem to be too big compared to the rest of their head and body like some owls.

Flightless Birds

Total Categories: 2

The Flightless birds are birds which lack the ability to fly, relying instead on their ability to run or swim. They are thought to have evolved from flying ancestors. There are about forty species in existence today. The best known being the Ostrich, Emu, Cassowary, Rhea, Kiwi, and Penguin. New Zealand has more species of flightless birds; including the Kiwis, several species of Penguins, and the Takahe; than any other country. The smallest flightless bird is the Inaccessible Island Rail [length 12.5 cm] and The largest flightless bird, which is also the largest living bird, is the Ostrich [9 ft], although some extinct species grew to larger sizes. Flightless birds are the easiest to take care of in captivity because they do not have to be caged. Ostriches were once farmed for their decorative feathers. Today they are raised for meat and for their skins, which are used to make leather.